Clown Nail Art

Let me start out by saying that I hate clowns, and I would never normally want to paint this subject, but I was playing in the orchestra for a production of Pagliacci by Ruggero Leoncavallo recently and was briefly obsessed with clowns because of the all the rehearsals and performances.  How could I resist the opportunity to face my fear?

I wanted to use primary colors for this design because they remind me of the circus.

img_20160510_171749.jpg

From left to right: craft smart Acrylic Paint in Black, Brigitte by Julep, and Sephora Nail Lacquer 5 day shine in Pole dance, Banana split, and Happy hour!

img_20160510_172656.jpg

I started with a white base color.

img_20160510_173206.jpg

Using different sized dotting tools, I applied dots of red, yellow, and blue nail polish which made my nails look like the packaging for Wonder Bread. I left the middle finger nail for the clown, and yes, that was for a reason. The nose was done with a large dotting tool, and I managed to use the brush from the bottle to swipe on a large red mouth for him.

img_20160513_220233.jpg

I painted eyes, eyebrows, and a mouth with a detail brush and black acrylic paint to finish off the look.

img_20160506_191034.jpg

My clown and my piccolo at rehearsal. The smiling face doesn’t really fit the opera if you know what the story is about, but I wasn’t about to paint him looking sad because clowns are already creepy to me.

img_20160506_230811.jpg

I think he goes best with a handful of confetti.

I could have painted more detail, but to be honest, I didn’t want to spend more time looking at him than I had to!  I had every intention of changing my polish soon after the opera, but things have been busier than anticipated, so my little friend has been tagging along for a week longer than originally planned.  Better tell him that the circus is moving out now!

Happy polishing!

Leave a comment