Aruban Flag Nails

My orchestra was asked to re-record the Aruban National Anthem for the first time in 40 years.  What an honor it was to participate in this event and make music with the choir full of gifted singers from Aruba!

Because of the significance of the occasion, we were warned that in addition to making an audio recording, the sessions would also be filmed and photographed.  I wanted to respect Aruba and show my support for the project by painting the country’s flag on my nails.  Thankfully it wasn’t a very complicated design.

Flag of Aruba.svg
By http://www.vexilla-mundi.com/aruba.htm, Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=375101
img_20160227_150944.jpg

I used Snowcone by Orly for the base color.

img_20160227_151033.jpg

With a striping brush and yellow acrylic paint, I marked two straight lines along the side of my thumbnail and across the tips of my other nails.

img_20160227_151136.jpg

To make the red star in the corner, I started by painting a small cross with a detail brush and red acrylic paint.

img_20160227_151251.jpg

I gently filled in the star by painting small lines over the cross shape done in the previous step.

img_20160227_151425.jpg

I finished it off by painting a white outline around the star with acrylic paint.

img_20160227_151351.jpg

The thumbnail shows the flag in its entirety.

I think the recording went well, and I’m anxious to hear the final cuts of the versions of the anthem that we did!  And who knows, maybe my nails will make it into one of the video cuts as well.

Happy polishing!

 

 

Leave a comment